Tags

, ,

Full of Life Campaign

Full of Life Campaign

On our very early walk on Sunday morning we were enjoying watching some young deer, watching us, everyone keeping very still, when I noticed some plastic in the hedge. Thinking it was a grain bag that got away from the farmer I went to rescue it to find that it was a spent helium balloon wishing me a Happy 21st Birthday! Thankfully it was wrong. I really don’t want to be 21 again!

 
Do you know that it is ‘Older Peoples’ Day’ on 1st October? I bet you didn’t!! Well I didn’t either until I received a special invitation for the 1st October to a gathering in the name of Older People. I will tell you all about it next week, but it has got me thinking. When is old? It’s easy to grasp a number and say an age ‘and over’, but that must be the worst way to define ‘old’.
 
For me old people are those who drive at 15 miles an hour on winding roads where you cannot overtake, then speed up when the road goes straight again! They are the people who, when they have picked up their pension on pension day go into the supermarket and aggressively push their baskets round so that they conveniently crash everyone else out of the way!! Childish or what? I would love to hear your definition of old, and why you are NOT old so please drop me a line. I will drop you a line next week and tell you what my gathering of old people was like. I like a challenge to my age, so please offer them but please do not challenge me to a game of Rugby! I may not last after half time.
Sylvia x
